Potato starch is a very fine white powder starch, similar in texture to cornstarch. If you’re not very careful when working with and measuring potato starch, you can create quite a cloud in the kitchen!
It is made from the dried starch component of peeled potatoes. It has no potato flavor so works well in most recipes, sweet or savory.
As part of the starch component of a gluten free flour blend, potato starch lends a light, fluffy texture to baked goods.
It is also a great thickener in gravies, sauces, and even in custards and puddings, which typically use cornstarch.
This is great news for individuals with a corn allergy or those on a grain-free diet. Potato starch is also permitted for Passover (for this reason, some stores stock it in the Kosher section; if you are having trouble locating it in your supermarket, be sure to check there)